miss you, mak


I was at the musolla just now-for Zuhur when i saw Kak Zu, in read baju kurung and matching tudung. She really reminds me of my late mother. My mother dresses just like her..in bright colours, matching tudung and shoes, and nice handbag by her arms, and an umbrella by the other hands. Red, orange, yellow and glaring green are her colours. She’ll always dresses up nicely, she even was called ‘datin’ by her officemates. She always condemn how i dress, and those tudung i wear – wanted me to as pretty as her all the time. She took my sister to a boutique and let her try all the baju kurung, she waiting outside the fitting room, giving out comments. My mother would never wear, never a tudung that does not fit or match the baju kurung she is wearing. She’s always wears a baju kurung, or kebaya or kurung moden. I remembered she tried to wear pants and skirts, but it lasted only for 3 months, then she passed away. Her dresses are still in her wardrobe, all kept by my dad before my dad pass away too. And he arranged her shoes all nicely underneath those dresses.

I wonder if she is still here today. I am so lousy in dressing up-wearing the same thing over and over again lately (as i have only few choice that could fit me now) I even would wear un match tudung – Yani called it decons – yearright.. alasan. I could guess if my mom is here I’ll have hours of blabs form her – I knew what she would say – pakai macam orang tua, colour tak ceria langsung, spec ni – beli la yang ada fashion sket.. and so on and so forth.. hahahah I think that would be funny – my housewife sister dresses nicer than I did.. πŸ˜› In other way, I’d like to know what would it be like if she is still here. I know she always wants the best for her daughter. And my guess is, she is gonna spend all her way dressing up Zahraa.

I miss mak.. Ramadhan always reminds me of her. her pudding, her cendol and teh tarik. She’s a working mother so she doesnt make kuih everyday. But once in a while her rainbow pudding rocks! And bubur pulut hitam too. Those are my favorite.

Now I am ‘the mak’. Having a family on my own. Now I make puddings for my family, and I made the teh tarik for my husband – just like my mom made for my dad. Simply, she’s there in my heart, in my heart everyday.

It has been 11 years mak.. May Allah bless you, and till we meet again…

2 thoughts on “miss you, mak

  1. kayla says:

    11 yrs already ya zoora? Subhanallah, how time flies ya. May Allah continue to give rahmat to ur mom n dad's roh, Ameen. Like u, aku pun rasa continuing some of our mom's recipe that we enjoy utk family kita pula is a nice way to revive some traditions n memories kan… remind us of happy moments to share πŸ˜‰

  2. ZOORA says:

    yup keyl.. 11 years.. its that long.. tp rasa mcm baru je.. thanks a lot keyl.. having friend like you all really did make things easier for me.. you all never stop being there for me.. thanks, i really appreciate that. yup.. sambung the tiny bit that my mom did-org lain tak tau .. kita je tau πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

